ARTIST’S NYSC EXPERIENCE THROUGH JOSHUA OYEDELE’S JOURNEY

Each graduate of Nigerian higher institution is expected to participate in a compulsory one-year national service, an initiative that started close to five decades ago as a way to create a unified state after the country’s civil war that lasted for thirty-six months.

© Joshua Oyedele 2021
© Joshua Oyedele 2021
© Joshua Oyedele 2021
© Joshua Oyedele 2021

My personal experience started at the Yakubu Gowon NYSC camp, Fanisau, Jigawa state. While I enjoyed the camp because of the opportunity it affords me to connect with “fellow Nigerian youths”. The eleven months I spent at a secondary school located in Birniwa, Birniwa local government teaching English language was a dent in my artistic and research prowess as a graduate of art history and visual artist because there was no artistic muse of any sort in the environment nor was there opportunity to visually study forms due to restrictions of religious practice in the location.

© Joshua Oyedele 2021

Joshua Oyedele’s case kind of seems similar with mine, he was able to explore his drawing skills during the 21 days orientation course for the batch A 2021 only to be posted to a remote location in Cross Rivers state where he teaches social studies because of the unavailability of cultural and creative art or fine art in the secondary school he was posted to for his primary assignment.

His 21 days visual storytelling using drawings documents the new normal type of living which we are now subjected to in addition to facial expressions of the Nigerian youths in a national service orientation camp.

© Joshua Oyedele 2021

His images help documents the dreams, expectations and fears of a typical Nigerian youth during a national service year camp.

© Joshua Oyedele 2021

In this conversation, Joshua Oyedele (J.O.) narrates his experience during the compulsory one-year national service in Abi Local Government Area of Cross River State, Nigeria.

OLÚSHỌLÁ OLÁJOBÍ: How will you describe your NYSC journey in summary?

J.O.: Starting from the pre-registration to the orientation camp then till I get posted to my place of primary assignment.

Although I had wanted to serve in Kano state for reasons I don’t even know. But I felt I could make more impact if I find myself up north. To the extent that when I got to where I was supposed to register, after choosing Kano state I don’t know where else I should choose, so i just picked some random states, Kwara and Cross River State inclusive.

© Joshua Oyedele 2021

I already made up my mind that wherever I find myself I will stay and serve my father land. I already told my Mom I was going to the north. She began to panic because of the unrest up North, but I already made up my mind. My sister was posted there at a time and she rejected it, it was so painful for me, and I planned that when my time comes, I’m going and not even mom can stop me.

© Joshua Oyedele 2021

So, upon seeing the posting, I saw Calabar, I felt very bad that night. As soon as I broke the news to my parent, my mom rejoiced. I had to plan my trip with the little time I had left with God help from people to fast track my movement, my uncles, aunts and immediate family came through for me.

Getting to the Camp, I began to look for at least someone that was from my Alma matter, at least before I began to make new friends, I love to identify with people I knew before, fortunately for me on of my roommate came from my campus and we were acquaintance back on campus, it was easy for me to roll with him, although it was for a short time since we weren’t in the same platoon.

© Joshua Oyedele 2021

As a trained artist I took some of my tools to the camp, including a fresh new sketch pad I prepared specifically for the camp. I wanted to do like one of my senior colleagues (Adeyemi Joshua) who drew some of his friends while on camp and I have been longing to do that. Immediately I got myself settled in the camp, I began to draw as though that was the only mission for the camping exercise.

After each morning parade, I will get my sketch pad and I began to make new friends through my drawing which also allow me to refer some of these new acquaintances to follow my activities on my new Instagram page. It was fun and I enjoyed it (Unfortunately the account was disabled after the camp, I don’t know why till today though.)
It didn’t take long that I began to gain recognition in the camp, this also gave me the opportunity to meet another amazing artist, Paul Ogunlesi a humble fellow.

© Joshua Oyedele 2021

During one of my drawing sessions, I got filmed by the camp director who called me and asked if I could make the drawing of the State Coordinator, like he knew my plan. Immediately, i got permission to skip parades (that was already stressing me out) to get the drawing done before the proposed time of unveiling it.

After the completion of the pencil portrait, I had a challenge of framing because that was my first time in the state so I had to beg a photographer to help me with that. It was done an I presented it during our passing out Parade from the camp. I was commended for my efforts at the camp and it was really fulfilling. I can only say it was indeed fun time at the camp.

Then our PPA posting letter came, and I was posted to Abi Local Government Area, a village, but I decided I was just going to go even when I had the privilege of relocating to Calabar. On getting to the place, I almost regretted why I didn’t oblige to relocate to the city. But the deed has been done. I started looking for a way to get acquainted with my new environment.

The school I was posted to, was not offering CCA nor fine art, so it was a challenge trying to take a subject I really wouldn’t want to take except from CCA because I already plan how I was going to impact my students.

© Joshua Oyedele 2021

Before getting posted I already knew I was going to make a remarkable impact in any community I will find myself, I just want to give to the society.

I did personal research about the community to know the problem I can best solve with my skills, then I decided to tackle the challenge of unclean environment and unemployment among youths in the community which birthed a personal project “Community skill empowerment while tackling the challenge of unclean environment in Abi Local Government Area of Cross River State Using Recycling and Upcycling tools”. This idea came as a result of my role as the Chief Production Officer (CPO) in my Initiative (Just Recycle Initiative).

The skills I have been able to gather over time came in handy during the period of this projects.

© Joshua Oyedele 2021
© Joshua Oyedele 2021

After the survey I decided to form a team, alongside my organization team members to make the work easy, and we started with a Clean-up and a day Recycling workshop in Itigidi community commemorating the World Environment Day on the 5th of June 2021, it was exciting as youth from the village began to have a paradigm shift on waste and what it can be used for. We had the support of the youth head in the community and other community stakeholders. I must say It was a success as we took off some waste from the community.

After the cleanup and workshop, many people were on the queue to acquire these skills, then we decided to impact 30 youths in the community with Recycling and Upcycling Skills in August of the same year in commemoration of the Youth day of service in partnership with LeapAfrica and Peace First.

This lasted for a week and we had our grand closing, Award ceremony and a mini exhibition of works made by the trainees. Another clean up was varied out in a neighboring village in the LGA which was also a success.

To directly impart the grassroot. Me and the team decided to run a Waste Management and Recycling Campaign in Secondary Schools within the Local Government which we have to abort after visiting 3 Schools because of the Labour congress strike in the state. This led us to redraft our plans and we end up training community women and Corp members on the art of Bag making.

The project was finally commissioned on the 14 of January 2022, with a Waste to Art Exhibition, which was curated virtually by Olushola O. Olajobi which was geared towards inspiring the trainee and their parents to see the value of the skills they have been impacted with.

OLÚSHỌLÁ OLÁJOBÍ: What were the major challenges?

J.O.: My major challenges include; Lack of financial support from the stakeholders in the community during the project, The Entitlement mentality of the villagers, Lack of man power among other issues which are really depressing when you think about the enormous wealth in this country.

OLÚSHỌLÁ OLÁJOBÍ: As an artist, what’s your take on NYSC. Do you think the scheme has long overstay its purpose or its mission and objective?

J.O.: The NYSC for me was a great experience in general. The whole experience was worth the while. The value of the scheme can’t be overemphasized, it is more of a preparatory ground for me and many others. And my advice for every Corp member is not just to go and snap pictures with the uniform or enjoy the benefits that comes with the uniform but look inward to see what and how they can impact their host community, whether they be artist or not.

With experiences such as mine and Joshua, many art graduates don’t see the need to serve their father’s land due to the unfair treatment of these creatives unlike other professionals in the course of trying to contribute their quotas to the nation development. I hope efforts will be geared towards making the scheme a more interesting experience for artists and creatives in the subsequent batches.